Welcome to Michael’s Blog!

Welcome to Michael's blog. Michael Andrew, (aka Michael The Maven) is a freelance producer, photography instructor, tech innovator, and when needed, disaster aid specialist. Disclaimer: Michael is a participant in Bhphoto & Amazon affiliate programs that provides an advertising commission if you purchase through links on this website.


 

01.18.21         photography  

Canon 90D VS Canon R6 - Strengths and Weaknesses from An Owner


Instead of me telling you the 90D and R6 are the best cameras in the world and you should go buy either of them, lets talk about some of their weaknesses you should know about before buy.

Michael's Canon R5/R6 Facebook User Group

Michael's Canon 90D Facebook User Group

Michael's Canon 90D Crash Course

Michael's Canon R5/R6 Crash Course

Michael's Canon 90D free training tutorial overview

Michael's Canon R5/R6 free training tutorial overview

Michael’s Other Camera Tutorial Videos: https://www.maventutorials.com

Digital Photography Crash Course

Maven Mini-Mic

Michael’s Maven Straps

01.16.21         movie reviews  

Wandavision


I watched the first episode of Wandavision last night in Disney Plus. Im a huge MARVEL fan. Im not really sure what is going on, but wow I lost patience after about 5 minutes and basically skipped through parts after that. It feels like Bewitched from the 70's, and I really have no idea where they are going with this, but I feel like i ordered a steak and got a salad. Ill try Episode 2 tonight.

01.14.21         photography  

Canon R5 & R6 Firmware Update Requests from Users


I recently asked my Canon R5/R6 Facebook User Group which features they would love to see in a future firmware update for the R5 and R6. These are the top features users would love to see. Which feature would you like Canon to add?

Michael's R5/R6 Facebook User Group

Michael's Canon R5/R6 Crash Course

Michael's Canon R5/R6 free training tutorial overview

Michael’s Other Camera Tutorial Videos

Digital Photography Crash Course

Maven Mini-Mic

Michael’s Maven Straps

01.12.21         netflix  

Why I Cancelled Netflix & Why I Suggest You Should too


Netflix, the streaming video service which has been one of my go to's for years started carrying a movie last year called "Cuties".

While I have not personally seen the film, reviews are that there were scenes and themes that many felt were trying to normalize the sexualization of young children. I had heard there was an indictment against Netflix and thought they had pulled it down, but I later found out this is not the case.

I realize there are lots of objectionable films on Netflix, but to me this crosses the line. I wont be a Netflix subscriber as long as it carries this film. I do not want my money, no matter how little, going to any company that condones anything related to the sexualization of children. There are other places I can watch movies online without dealing with or supporting this. I understand and realize many will disagree with me.

I know this post is much later than when this all went down, but in that issues with the freedom of speech & social media are about to get very complicated, this is one of the topics I feel is not justified by an artist, no matter what their reasoning is. I also feel I need to be more of an active voice on the matter, even if many disagree with me. I think Netflix is wrong to have this film and this will be my position until it is no longer carried.

For the most part I am 100% supportive of the freedom of speech, even when I don't like it.

I can also say, since cancelling my subscription, I have not missed it all!

Ill likely be blogging much more than I have in a while.


01.11.21         movie reviews  

The Dissident


Spending the big money for this one, $25. The reason was such high ratings on Rotten Tomatoes. It was 96/99% last time I checked. I wont give any spoilers here, but I will say there is an interesting piece of information as to why Jamal Khashoggi may have been targeted when he was.

Especially with everything going on recently, it was pertinent to why freedom of speech, even when we disagree with it is such a gift.

All this said, it was more a documentary about Jamal and the events leading up to his execution. Im not sure I would recommend it for $25 to most viewers during quarantine times as money is tight and most of the information is already available online. $10 would definitely be worth it. Im sure the price will come down with time.

It was interesting to me, and I was glad I watched it.

Sad story about a brave man who loved his country, but paid the price for speaking against authority.

01.07.21         tutorial & training videos  

Sony A7C Training Tutorial


If you would like me to do a crash course for the Sony A7C, please let me know in the comments below and if there is enough interest I will notify you when it is ready.

Visit my Sony A7C Facebook User Group

01.05.21         movie reviews  

Greenland


First movie review of the year! Greenland is a paid rental on most platforms and it was $20 (ouch), but the model is interesting to me for the same reason Wonder Woman 1984 was: new movies are now going straight to "home viewing" options, and the best model hasn't been figured out yet. I far prefer watching movies in the theater for the experience, but I wouldnt be against watching at home for obvious reasons.

As far as the film, it was decent, I liked many of the situations and problems proposed because that is exactly how disasters play out. Its an intense and engaging view into the human mind during disasters.

Was it worth $20? Uhhhhh not for one person I dont think. For 2 or more? Yes, and thats why I think it was $20.

12.25.20         movie reviews  

Wonder Woman 1984


Warner Brothers recently announced they will be simultaneously releasing their movies onto HBO Plus for no extra cost than their monthly subscription, at this time about $15. You could feasibly even subscribe, watch the one movie you want, and then unsubscribe.

Been waiting for this one for a long, long time. We watched it this afternoon over at my Dad's house today after Christmas lunch.

I really liked the first one, Gal Gadot is worth the cost of admission alone. WW84 had so much potential, some great moments and action, but overall I was disappointed! ugh! Sorry! There were just too many unnecessary parts that could have been edited out, and it felt very long and too many parts I couldn't suspend disbelief for.

All that said, there isnt much else out right now, so its a fun watch, but don't get your hopes up and it'll be more enjoyable.

12.05.20         movie reviews  

Runaway


Also free on Amazon Prime. An absolute 80s classic. Written by Michael Crichton!

Why were movies from the 80's sooo good?? Tom Select stars as an overly funded LAPD robot retention specialist. Amazing how much they got right. 30 years before Boston Dynamics started freaking us out, Runaway was warning us about the dangers of over-trusting robots which could be easily programmed to kill people. While we still don't have heat seeking bullets, they got drones right and called them "floaters". What more could you want then Gene Simmons' over the top villain Luther and 80's hair dos?? Its a fun movie!

11.27.20         movie reviews  

Ninja 3 Domination


This is another 80s classic. I remember we had the VHS tape as a kid and we would play this and terminator over and over and over. My siblings and I had every line memorized.

The production company that made these ninja films, Cannon, had a crazy history. They were the run and gun film studio that just cranked out movies like water. Apparently one year, if I am remembering correctly they had produced some 50 films. An astonishing feat likely to never be repeated. Im not saying they were all good films, but they were films. There is a 2015 Documentary about them on Amazon Prime: Electric Boogaloo - Wild Documentary About Cannon Films

Because of this wild west style of production, they put scripts together pretty quickly, and you get cult classics that are so bad they are good! Even after all these years I found myself quoting the lines and singing the quirky tunes. lol.


1 of 465 Next >
blog stats
posts: 4,681
comments: 12,277
visits:
archive by month
2021:   january
2020:   january  february  march  may  june  july  august  october  november  december
2019:   january  february  march  april  may  june  july  august  september  october  november  december
2018:   january  february  march  april  may  june  july  august  september  october  november  december
2017:   january  february  march  april  may  june  july  august  september  october  november  december
2016:   january  february  march  april  may  june  july  august  september  october  november  december
2015:   january  february  march  april  may  june  july  august  september  october  november  december
2014:   january  february  march  april  may  june  july  august  september  october  november  december
2013:   january  february  march  april  may  june  july  august  september  october  november  december
2012:   january  february  march  april  may  june  july  august  september  october  november  december
2011:   january  february  march  april  may  june  july  august  september  october  november  december
2010:   january  february  march  april  may  june  july  august  september  october  november  december
2009:   january  february  march  april  may  june  july  august  september  october  november  december
2008:   january  february  march  april  may  june  july  august  september  october  november  december
2007:   january  july  august  september  october  november  december
BH PhotoMichael Andrew Lollipops | Photoshop Action SetCanon 5Diii Crash Course Training VideoNikon D7100 Crash Course Training Tutorial VideoPaintballer ProBusiness Crash Course For PhotographersPhotography Lighting Crash CourseCanon 600EX-RT Speedlite Crash CourseCanon Speedlite Crash Course DVDMaven Adapter - Sky Cam ConnectorCanon 6D Crash Course Tutorial Training VideoMA- Maui Screen Savers 2009Digital Photography Crash Course DVDMichael Andrew Maui Desktop WallpaperNikon D5300 Crash Course DownloadPhotoshop Crash Course DVD Beginner LessonsAdvanced Photography Techniques Lessons DVD